Fighting DUI Charges in Tennessee

Clarksville DUI Lawyers: Call (931) 398-5308 Now

Alcohol Next to Keys on a Table Driving under the influence (of drugs or alcohol) is a serious criminal offense. In Tennessee, the DUI laws are extremely tough with regard to the penalties imposed on those who are convicted. A DUI is one of the few criminal offenses where conviction can depend solely on the opinion of law enforcement.

Tennessee law does require, however, that the government prove beyond a reasonable doubt the accused was operating or in control of a motor vehicle, that they were driving on a public road, highway, or any other area generally frequented by the public, and that they were under the influence of alcohol or drugs with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or higher.

Penalties for Drunk Driving

1st Offense DUI in TN

A first offense DUI conviction can mean penalties of:

  • Up to 11-months and 29-days in jail (48-hours minimum)
  • Revoked license for 1-year
  • Mandatory DUI school
  • $350-$1,500 fine as well as paying restitution for any injuries
  • Possible drug and alcohol treatment at the judge's discretion

2nd Offense DUI TN

After two convictions within 5-years, you may face penalties including:

  • Up to 11-months and 29-days in jail (45-days minimum)
  • Revoked license for 2-years
  • Mandatory DUI school
  • Paying restitution to anyone who suffered injuries or loss as a result of DUI
  • $600-$3,500 fine
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device for 6-months

3rd DUI in TN

After three convictions within 10-years, possible penalties include:

  • Up to 11-months and 29-days in jail (120-days minimum)
  • Revoked license for 3 to 10-years
  • Mandatory DUI school
  • $1,100-$10,000 fine as well as possible restitution costs
  • Possible vehicle forfeiture
  • Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device during suspension as well as 6-months after driving privileges are reinstated

Is a DUI a Felony in TN?

In Tennessee, a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd DUI conviction are all considered misdemeanors with varying levels of jail time, fines and other penalties. However, a fourth (or more) charge of drunk driving is charged as a Class E Felony.

DUI Defense Attorney Serving Clarksville

Grimes, Sensing & Clemons PLLC are criminal defense attorneys representing clients in the Clarksville and Montgomery County, Tennessee areas who have been arrested for or are facing DUI charges. It is important for drivers to remember that even if they have taken a breath test or blood test which showed their blood alcohol concentration to be .08% or higher, they do have legal options.

The most important factor when facing criminal accusations of DUI is to secure high quality legal counsel. The Clarksville DUI defense attorneys at the firm will take the time to thoroughly review your case, how the arrest took place, how the breath or blood tests were administered, as well all other evidence that led to the criminal charges of DUI. They are there to represent you, to protect your best interests and to determine the best legal options to pursue.

When facing DUI charges, you need an attorney who will fight for your rights. Contact a Clarksville DUI attorney at (931) 398-5308 so they can review your case and advise you of the legal options available to you.

Start Building Your Defense Today

If you have been arrested and charged with a crime, please contact us by calling (931) 398-5308
or simply fill out the form below and we will get in touch with you.

    • Please enter your first name.
    • Please enter your last name.
    • This isn't a valid phone number.
      Please enter your phone number.
    • This isn't a valid email address.
      Please enter your email address.
    • Please make a selection.
    • Please enter a message.